#Writing 101#Unlock the Mind #Day1

You write because you have an idea in your mind that feels so genuine, so important, so true. And yet, by the time this idea passes through the different filters of your mind, and into your hand, and onto the page or computer screen — it becomes distorted, and it’s been diminished. The writing you end up with is an approximation, if you’re lucky, of whatever it was you really wanted to say.

– Author Khaled Hosseini, “How to Write,” the Atlantic


“Being Able to write is a Blessing”

The above lines in itself truly describe the scenario every writer faces, atleast the amateur writers like me do. (Though as of now, I don’t consider myself a writer. I’m just a beginner. There is a long way to go. I’ve used it in the context that anyone who writes is a writer, 😉 ) To add to this, there is a major issue cropping up these days, that I am giving a mention below.

These days, since I have been regular at writing almost anything and everything that comes up to my mind, my thoughts have started startling me. They strike my mind with the speed of light (I don’t think I am exaggerating), one after the other, even before I could make a note of the first one the next seems to come in and the chain continues. It makes it difficult for me to able to concentrate on what I was supposed to write. So, I found a way out. I have started making notes of the subsequent thoughts that strike me and help my focus on the first one. Once I complete that write – up, I re-visit the notes list, choose one out of that and get back to writing. This has no doubt helped me, but this wanderer mind of mine still creates troubles but I am trying to keep an edge over it. I hope, I succeed. And, honestly, when I write something with a focused and free mind, I find my writings better than what I write when I am over-filled with thoughts. I won’t say that those write-up’s come up to be excellent but they are something I pour my heart in, so I feel more connected, more satisfied and happier.

Also, these over-speedy thoughts and my focus to be able to write them somewhere before they disappear or vanish, at times cuts me from the physical world. It happens a lot these days that I am with my family or friends talking and chatting with them, spending time with them and suddenly I am lost…Lost in my own world. It is difficult to believe that my mom pulls my leg by saying that she has lost her importance to my writings..Gosh..! I really couldn’t believe my ears really heard that, I pinched myself and thought over what mom said and I found that true to an extent. The time slot in my schedule that exclusively belonged to my Mum previously now is spent either with my diary or laptop. I decided to effectively manage time and not to disappoint Mumma. Also, the time devoted to chats and messages previously now goes in making notes of the recurrent thoughts in my mind i.e. the use of my cell phone too has changed a great deal. I have started getting complaints from my folks. I am hopeful to be able to deal with this and I am sure I will be able to do it.

To conclude, I would like to put it up as  – There are two things I need to be doing – Firstly, manage my thoughts (My Dream World, The Illusionary World that seems real only to me) and secondly, manage my relationships (The Physical World, The Real Real World). I can’t even imagine living in the absence of any of these. Though both are mutually exclusive but both are essential for my survival. I exist because they do. I am because they are.

P.S. This is written as a part of the Day1 activity of “Writing 101” initiative by WordPress.

7 thoughts on “#Writing 101#Unlock the Mind #Day1

  1. I am being so tentative with my writing that I admire someone who can get so caught up in it. Mind you today I have spent over an hour just trying to get my head around the challenges of the 101.

    Like

  2. you perfectly echoed my mind 😀 this is well written! :)) yes, don’t disappoint your mama! I wish time went back, so that I could spend one more time with mine! Stay blessed xoxo

    Like

    1. Thanks Milaah…yaa, now a days, I make it a point not to disappoint her (and avoid her cursing my dear lappy, it literally crashed twice in the middle of my writing when I didn’t listen to her 😦 )…m glad that you felt connected..:)
      You too stay happy stay blessed..:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment